The Former Telescope Mercenary

Wednesday, November 29, 2006

SaraBelle, R.I.P.

Its over.

As I mentioned in the previous entry, SaraBelle was very listless for the past couple of days and was breathing hard. I took her to the vet as part of her regular schedule, but got a call that morning from the Vet saying that she was in bad shape. She had a low temperature, her breathing was much too hard for simple asthma, and an X-ray showed possible fluid in the lungs. I figured I would have to make a hard decision that afternoon.

It didn't even last that long. I got a second call later that morning from the Vet saying that SaraBelle was having a lot of trouble breathing and I might want to think about coming by sooner. I took the rest of the day off from work and headed to the vet. They brought her out in a cat bed covered with a blanket. I could see her breathing was very labored, and she hardly even reacted when I scratched her head. There wasn't much of 'her' left. It wasn't long after that she was euthenized. I think the vet staff may have taken it as hard as I am. They had come to know here as the feisty little girl they saw once a week for the past year.

I'm going to miss you little Sarabelle.



Tuesday, November 28, 2006

Early Holiday Season Blog Post

Ah well. What can I say about a Holiday season where I can walk outside without a jacket?

I can say this much: I have figured out why I don't like X-mas carols. I thought I was just being a curmudgeon, but the simple fact is: 99% of carols are crap, and the writing is not the blame, its the performers.

I realized this recently when I was in Sears during lunch break. They had the background music of X-mas tune, not too different than the 'All X-mas tunes' radio station that plays in the warehouse at work. Anyway, one song started up, with little more than a cheap drum machine and a synthetic guitar, followed by the most anemic woman singing the lines to 'Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer'. The term 'lack of effort' might start to describe the apathy evoked by this version of the song. The singer might as well have been singing with the lines 'Whatever the whatever-Whatever had a very what-ev-er'. I am now convinced there are several types of X-mas tunes:

1) The Good, but overplayed. Some of these are really cool. Even the weirdest, with Bing Crosby singing duet with David Bowie is neat. As is Bruce SpringStein's 'Santa Claus is comin' to Town', along with a handful of others. These are fine tunes, but they get played so much you quickly get sick of them.

2)The poorly written, thus annoying. Heaven help me..does anyone fucking LIKE 'Grandma got run over by a reindeer?! I was sick of this from when it came out in my childhood. Add to this mix the goddamn dogs barking jingle bells, that Damn X-mas Donkey song, and a bunch of others.

3)Trying Too Hard Get some crooner, pretty boy, or latest variation on a Britney with a bundle of energy in the recording studio and they want to put their personal stamp on it. This is usually pretty lame, such as using their heavily modified in-studio voice (i.e. Ride the wild synthesizer) and the attempt to push some their own twist on the song. This is often something dumb, such as one crooner's adding of a few 'LA's to the Falalalala-la-la-la-la portion of 'Deck the halls'. Oh yeah. Real impressive. Sadly, about 90% of the 'Motown' versions of X-mas carols fall into this category. Most of them are faked modern motown, however.

4)Not Trying This is where the majority of X-mas tunes lay. You can see it now: Soon to be breaking onto-the-scene Miss Flavor of the year is signing contracts in April when someone suggests a Christmas Album for later int he year. Wonderful idea! She thinks. More exposure! Fun times! Then she goes on her speed-fueled tour of assigned MTV sites and concerts and gets exhausted from lip-synching and co-ordinating dance routines. In late September the Label points at the calendar and tells her to get her butt into the studio to record them Happy X-mas tunes. First she's posed in front of a red background holding up a wreath and wearing white fur-trimmed tights and high boots. Then she's limo-ed to the studio and without much planning decides to just bark out a few of the more popular tunes with help from the beat machine and some old strings in the back of the hard drive on an mp3. The CD is pressed, and the fans buy it up. Whoop-dee-doo.

Am I ranting? I must be.

Things are not great. I don't know why but I have been really anxious at work for no legitimate reason. This morning I was on the verge of just marching out and saying the hell with it all. I calmed down by the afternoon, but there was no reason for such anxiety in the first place. I hate when I get this way. It might be some kind of minor burnout, I've had them before but usually without such spiking symptoms.

SaraBelle goes in for treatment tomorrow and I fear she needs it. She's been listless the past couple of days (she was good over the weekend) and she is breathing heavily. I hope this isn't a bigger problem.

Friday, November 24, 2006

Turkey Day.

It is late on Turkey Day and I am pretty much drunk as a skunk. Four beers and about 2/4 of a large bottle of wine will do that. My parents are to blame.

It was fun day. The one person who was close to my age was no present, sadly, but I still had a good time. Spittingrage will be glad to know that I finally got explain the terminology of 'Princess Dipshit' in regards to one of my California girlfriends was finally explained to my parents.

Time for sleep now. Night night.

Thursday, November 16, 2006

November? I don't think so.

Its been warm. Like nearly 70 degrees warm. Its November.


...

.....

..

You would not BELIEVE how that fucks with your sense of season.

Seriously, I fell like I was back in California, where the constantly pleasant weather meant that I usually only had a vague idea what MONTH it was. Now here I am again sitting with the windows open because its a lovely September day outside.

muttermuttermuttermutter

Tuesday, November 07, 2006

I am the NIGHT RIDER!

For the first time, I have ridden my bike home, at least most of the way, in the dark.

I took my bike to Haddonfield, took the train into Camden, then made my merry way to the bridge and went home from there. It was all very simple.

I had one incident where some dumb driver's were locked on the car in front of her as she turned left. Couldn't be bothered to look to see if anything was coming straight. She just barely stopped, I gave her the business. She probably convinced herself that I was riding in the dark and therefore deserved to be hit. After all, I was only had a light, covered with reflective material, and her eyes were most definately not looking for oncoming stuff.

But anyway. The bridge is very interesting in the dark. Almost kinda spooky in some ways. One nice thing about the dark is that my flashing light let's the folks blocking the road know that there is someone behind them. In this case it was a group of kids on street bikes walking them up the bridge. Normally, that would involve a lot of alerting the oblivious, but the light flashing away told them ahead of time.

Anyway, things were pretty bad over the weekend. Had a bunch of trouble at work and was really let into a gut-wrenching situation. I'll spare the details (it is possible this blog is being read by someone 'keeping an eye', although I am likely just being paranoid), but on Friday afternoon I was pretty much convinced my job was doomed. Today, I can't say things are any better from the outside perception, but at least I will simply do my job, avoid the mistakes I made that got me in trouble. After a day of product stuff and picture work with camera and Photoshop I feel much better. If doing all the work that I can as best I can is not enough for some folks then there was nothing more I could do.